Tribute to…

Posted: March 30, 2011 in Fun, FYI, Video Games
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

The Best Fighting Game Ever Made

I am a big fan of fighting video games, ever since my first hadouken and “Get over here!” I’ve played many of fighting games, but only one stands out to me as the best, and that game is Def Jam: Fight For New York. Hold up, before you grab your pitchforks and light your torches, hear me out. Fighting games like Street Fighter, Tekken, Guilty Gear, and the Capcom Vs. series are all awesome, but to me they lack the feeling of a real street fight brawl (I know, ironic right). In Def Jam: FFNY there are no powers, no guns, no Million hit combo, just regular old ass kickin’. Getting your face bashed against a wall, getting thrown through a car window, having your head smash in a car door, or being ran over by a train. All of these things and more can be done, and having them done by or to famous rappers and actors makes this game freaking awesome. Not only that, but I think the player takes on actual battle damage, so when you get your ass handed to you, you look like it.

Total ass kickery isn’t the only reason why I love this game, I also love it for its creativity. Some, if not all of the rappers and actors featured in this game give their own opinions to the developers on how they want their characters to play in the game. They gave their thoughts on the characters fighting style, types of moves they can perform, and their finishers. Their were videos put out for both this Def Jam game and the previous one (Def Jam Vendetta, another awesome fighting game). Some of their ideas were stupid, brutal, and just over the top. And I loved every minute of it.

And you add that together with an actual story, and you have yourself one hell of a fighting game. I loved this game, and the bragging rights I got from beating my friends terribly. Skill definitely shows while playing this game, games can be as short as a minute or two when playing against a beginner, and can last almost thirty minutes or more when evenly matched. I would love to see this game on the current generation consoles like the PS3, although it technically did with Def Jam: Icon. But that game just took everything I loved of the last game, and replaced it with a lazy piece of… I’ll just save that for a later rant.

And that’s my love letter to this game. If you still have a PS2, X-Box, or Gamecube running, give this game a chance. Believe me, this is the best fighting game ever made. Okay, now you can grab your pitchforks and torches.

Read on viewers!

Leave a Reply

